Canon Club

Presented by


Canon Club | Where Women in Entertainment and Technology Meet

DEG is dedicated to helping cultivate a vibrant community for women in entertainment and technology. DEG’s Canon Club strives to be a place where women at all levels and in all sectors of our business are welcome to share knowledge and build their business networks.  In 2019, Canon Club announced an Advisory Board and added new benefits, activities and events for members at all levels and in all sectors of digital media.

In 2020-2021, Canon Club has gone virtual! Social distancing is no problem with the online events we’ve hosted. Members have been able to attend virtual salons and events that provide insights into the industry as well as listen to top industry executives discuss their career paths. Canon Club is dedicated to bringing value to its members virtually until it is safe to meet in person.

Email to be included on the mailing list so you don’t miss out.

For Sponsorship Opportunities, please email Andi Elliott (

Hedy Lamarr Award for Women in Entertainment and Technology

Austrian-American actress Hedy Lamarr was a Hollywood legend who is best known for her roles in many film classics, including Samson and Delilah, The Strange Woman, and Tortilla Flat. She was also a lifelong inventor whose innovative work included pioneering “frequency hopping,” which became the foundation for spread spectrum technology. Conceived by Lamarr and composer George Antheil for radio guidance systems and patented in 1942, this highly secure technology resists interference and dropout, and is utilized today for a variety of cellular, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth applications.

In the spirit of knowledge sharing and inspiration for all women in the business of home entertainment, DEG has created the Hedy Lamarr Awards to recognize and inspire pioneering work by the multi-faceted female leaders in our industry today.

DEG has named Poppy Crum, Chief Scientist at Dolby Laboratories (above, far left), the 2021 recipient of its Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology. She will receive the award in a virtual presentation on December 6, 2021.

DEG presented its first Hedy Lamarr Award  in 2017 to Academy Award winning actor and advocate Geena Davis, Founder and Chair of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media (far right).  The following year, DEG presented Nonny de la Peña, CEO Emblematic Group (2nd from right), with the award. The 2019 award was presented to Dean Willow Bay of the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism (middle) and in 2020 it was bestowed on Sara DeWitt, VP of PBS KIDS Digital (2nd from left). DEG created the Innovation Award to recognize female executives in the fields of entertainment and technology who have made a significant contribution to the industry.

DEG also presents the Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment Technology, which recognizes female college students whose studies in the fields of entertainment and technology have shown exceptional promise. The 2021 award will honor Shambhavi Mishra of Carnegie-Mellon University, and also runner-up Brianna Seaberg of USC.

The first Emerging Leader award was presented to Johanna Baumann of the University of Michigan in 2017. Cassidy Pearsall of Carnegie Mellon University received the award in 2018. Maya Tribbitt of USC Annenberg and USC College of Letters, Arts and Sciences received the award in 2019. The 2020 recipient is Molly Mielke of UCLA.

Canon Club Pivots to Online Events in 2020 and 2021

Top left: Canon Club’s (Iced) Coffee with the Board: A Conversation with Andrea Downing (PBS Distribution);  (c.) Molly Birkholm led a special mindfulness workshop for Canon Club participants; (r.) Paula Kerger (PBS) presents Sara DeWitt (KIDS Digital, PBS) with the Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology.

Bottom left: NPD’s Karyn Schoenbart delivers the keynote address at the Canon Club Mentoring Kick-off event; (c.)Dametra Johnson-Marletti of Microsoft is interviewed by Stephanie Prange of Media Play News; (r.) Samara Winterfeld (Xperi) hosts a mini-salon to Canon Club Mentees.

Advisory Board

Robin Tarufelli, Deloitte Managing Director, Media and Entertainment [CHAIR]

Paulette Pantoja, Blu Digital Group, CEO 

Karen Chupka, Consumer Technology Association, EVP, CES  

Karin Gilford, Movies Anywhere, Senior Vice President/General Manager

Michele Edelman, Premiere Digital Services, Head of Growth 

Janice Pearson, Synamedia, Director Business Development 

Carol Hanley, Whip Media, President 

Meri Hassouni, Giant Interactive, Vice President, Business Development  [VICE CHAIR]

Yolanda Macias, Cinedigm, Chief Content Officer 

Allison Gordon, Intel, West Regional Sales Director 

Nadia Haney, NBCUniversal, Vice President Global Marketing, Emerging Technology 

Rose Hulse, ScreenHits TV, Founder & CEO 

Darcy Antonellis, Vubiquity, Chief Executive Officer 

Loren Nielsen, Xperi, Vice President, Content Relations and Strategy

Terri Davies, Anuvu, Senior Vice President Content & Media 

Rebecca Heap, Comcast, SVP Video & Entertainment, Xfinity Consumer Services 

Dametra Johnson-Marletti, Microsoft, Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Stores Category Management 

Andrea Downing, PBS Distribution, President 

Teresa Phillips, Spherex, Co-founder & CEO 

Jessica Schell, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment, EVP and General Manager