DEG Elects New Board of Directors for 2020-21 Fiscal Year; Wuthrich Elected Chair, Cohen Vice Chair

DEG Elects New Board of Directors for 2020-21 Fiscal Year; Wuthrich Elected Chair, Cohen Vice Chair

Jim Wuthrich of Warner Bros. (left); Dan Cohen of ViacomCBS


CONTACT: Marcy Magiera 



Jim Wuthrich of Warner Bros. Is New Chair; Dan Cohen of ViacomCBS is Vice Chair

New members Disney+ and ESPN+ bring Disney back to DEG

LOS ANGELES (September 8, 2020)DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group today announced its incoming Board of Directors and additional new member companies in the burgeoning direct-to-consumer video segment at the commencement of its 24th year as the home entertainment industry’s leading trade association.

                The new DEG members include A+E Networks, Amazon’s Prime Video, Disney+, ESPN+, FilmRise, Peacock and ZOO Digital. A+E Networks, Amazon Prime Video, Disney+, ESPN+ and Peacock are also represented on DEG’s D2C Alliance Steering Committee.

                DEG’s voting member companies elected the new Board of Directors to serve for the 2020-21 fiscal year (August 1 – July 31). New individuals joining the Board are Jeremy Settle of AT&T, Rebecca Heap of Comcast, Michael Bonner of NBCUniversal and Dan Cohen of ViacomCBS.

                 A+E Networks, Disney and Xperi are member companies newly represented on the DEG Board. A+E Networks is represented on the Board by Mark Garner, Disney is represented by Alisa Bowen, and Xperi is represented by Bill Neighbors. Neighbors is one of two Special Board Advisors. These appointed, non-voting seats are open to DEG member companies not currently eligible for the Board, including Associate and Affiliate Members.

                The Officers of the DEG Board were elected to a two-year term in 2020 and will continue to serve through July 2022. Officers include Chair Jim Wuthrich of Warner Bros. Home Entertainment & Games; Vice Chair Dan Cohen of ViacomCBS Global Distribution Group; CFO Andrea Downing of PBS Distribution; Secretary Rick Hack of Intel; and Chair Emeritus Matt Strauss of Peacock.

“We welcome all of our new DEG Board Directors and are thrilled about the expanding participation of direct-to-consumer companies,” said Amy Jo Smith, DEG President & CEO. “The Board and the Officers represent the diversity across our digital media ecosystem and they are a great group of people who want to actively participate to produce deliverables that meet the needs of our membership at this dynamic time.”


Officers of the Board (Fiscal Years 2020-22)
Jim Wuthrich

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment & Games

Vice Chair
Dan Cohen
ViacomCBS Global Distribution Group

Chief Financial Officer
Andrea Downing
PBS Distribution

Rick Hack
Head of Media & Entertainment Partnerships

Chair Emeritus
Matt Strauss

Chairman, Peacock
and NBCUniversal Digital Enterprises

Board Members (Fiscal Year 2020-21)
Mark Garner
Executive Vice President, Content Licensing and Business Development
A+E Networks

Erol Kalafat
Senior Technical Product Manager
Amazon Studios

Jeremy Settle
Assistant Vice President, Video Analytics

Rebecca Heap
Senior Vice President Video & Entertainment, Xfinity Consumer Services

Alisa Bowen
SVP Business Operations
Disney Streaming Services

Mark Young
Senior Vice President, Global Strategy, Corporate and Business Development
Fandango, VUDU, FandangoNOW, & Rotten Tomatoes

Jonathan Zepp
Media & Entertainment, Global Partnerships

Tim Alessi
Senior Director – Product Marketing
LG Electronics

Ron Schwartz
President, Home Entertainment

Michael Bonner
President, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment

Pedro E. Gutierrez Jr.
Director of Entertainment and Consumer Application Category Management
Microsoft Corporation

Bob Buchi
President, Worldwide
Paramount Home Entertainment

Chad Bautista
Director, CE Product Planning

Cheryl K. Goodman
Head of Corporate Communications
Sony Electronics

Special Board Advisors
Robin Tarufelli
Managing Director

Bill Neighbors
SVP, GM – Cinema, Digital Media & Streaming Solutions

 The DEG advocates and promotes entertainment platforms, products and distribution channels that support the movie, television, music, consumer electronics and IT industries. DEG membership is comprised of: DEG membership is comprised of: A+E Networks, AT&T, Amazon Prime, Amazon Studios, AMC Theatres, BBC Studios, bitMAX, Blu, Cinelytic, Comcast Cable, DTS, Inc., Deloitte, Deluxe Digital, Disney+, Dolby Laboratories, ESPN+, Fandango, FilmRise, Giant Interactive, GfK Entertainment, Google Play, The Great Courses, HBO, IMAX, Intel, LG Electronics USA, IYUNO Media Services, Lionsgate, MGM, Microsoft, NPD Group, Ownzones, Paramount Home Entertainment, PBS Distribution, Peacock, Premiere Digital, Redbox, Reelgood, Row8, Samsung Electronics, Screen Engine/ASI, Snap Inc., Sonopress, Sony New Media Services, Sony Electronics, Technicolor, Universal Operations Group, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, Verizon Digital Media Services, ViacomCBS, Vubiquity, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment, Whip Media and ZOO Digital.


Download Press Release