DEG Now Accepting Applications for 2018 Hedy Lamarr Awards Program

DEG Now Accepting Applications for 2018 Hedy Lamarr Awards Program

Inaugural ‘Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology’ 
Presented to Geena Davis

LOS ANGELES (November 16, 2017) – DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group is pleased to announce the opening of the second year competition for two awards: the “Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology,” which recognizes female executives in the fields of entertainment and technology who have made a significant contribution to the industry; and the “Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment Technology,” which recognizes female college students in their Junior Year who have shown exceptional promise in the field. The second annual Hedy Lamarr Awards will be presented in November 2018, to coincide with the 104th anniversary of Hedy Lamarr’s birth.

The announcement follows the presentation of the inaugural Hedy Lamarr Award for Innovation in Entertainment Technology to Geena Davis, Founder and Chair of the Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media, last night in Santa Monica, Calif. The 2017 Hedy Lamarr Achievement Award for Emerging Leaders in Entertainment Technology was presented to student Johanna Baumann of the University of Michigan. Finalists Carolyn DiLoreto of the University of Southern California and Cherylynn Lima of Smith College were also recognized. All three received scholarships.

“We are so grateful for the support DEG received for the inaugural Hedy Lamarr Awards from across the entertainment and technology communities,” said Amy Jo Smith, President, DEG. “We look forward to continuing to honor Ms. Lamarr, and to continuing her legacy by recognizing the achievements of accomplished successors like Geena Davis.”

The 2017 awards were made possible through the generous sponsorship of Vubiquity CEO Darcy Antonellis, the Consumer Technology Association (CTA), Deluxe, PBS Distribution and Sony Electronics.

Austrian-American actress Hedy Lamarr was a Hollywood legend who is best known for her roles in a number of film classics, including Samson and Delilah, The Strange Woman, and Tortilla Flat. She was also a lifelong inventor whose innovative work included pioneering “frequency hopping” which became the foundation for spread spectrum technology. Conceived by Lamarr and composer George Antheil for radio guidance systems and patented in 1942, this highly secure technology resists interference and dropout, and is utilized today for a variety of cellular, WiFi and Bluetooth applications.

To honor Ms. Lamarr, the Innovation Award seeks to recognize and commemorate women industry leaders that have made a similar impact in the field of entertainment technology. The Achievement Award seeks to encourage and enable highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them in entertainment technology, be those pursuits academic or professional. In 2018, up to $20,000 will be awarded.

To determine the award winners, the DEG has enlisted a distinguished Judging Panel comprised of a cross-section of leaders representing the entertainment, technology, academic, IT and consumer electronics industries. Among other factors, the Judging Panel will base their decision on the candidate’s embodiment of the following principles: Innovation, Engagement, Excellence, and Leadership.

Photo caption: DEG President Amy Jo Smith (l.) with (l. to r.) Geena Davis, students Carolyn DiLoreto and Johanna Baumann, and DEG Chair Mike Dunn of Fox, at the Hedy Lamarr Awards presentation November 15 in Santa Monica, Calif.

For more information, please contact

Download Press Release

Download 2018 Innovation Award Nomination Form

Download 2018 Scholarship Application

The DEG advocates and promotes entertainment platforms, products and distribution channels which support the movie, television, music, consumer electronics and IT industries. DEG’s current objectives include:

DEG membership is comprised of: Amazon, Astell & Kern, BBC AMERICA, bitMAX, Bluesound, Broad Green Pictures, Cinedigm Entertainment, Cinelytic, Cognizant, Comcast Cable, comScore, DTS, Inc., Deloitte, Deluxe Digital, DirecTV, Dolby Laboratories, Ericsson, Fandango, Giant Interactive, GfK Entertainment, Gibson Brands, GoChip, Google Play, The Great Courses, HBO Home Entertainment, IMAX, Intel, Irdeto, LG Electronics USA, Lionsgate, MAI, Mediamorph, MGM, Microsoft, MovieLabs, MQA, Music Watch Inc., My Eye Media, Nielsen Entertainment, NPD Group, The Orchard, Panasonic, Paramount Home Media Distribution, PBS Distribution, Philips Electronics, Pioneer Onkyo, Premiere Digital, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Qobuz, Redbox, Samsung Electronics, Screen Engine/ASI, SellThruCo, Sonopress, Sony DADC, Sony Electronics, Sony Music Entertainment, Technicolor, TiVo, Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, Universal Music Group, Universal Operations Group, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, V2Solutions, Verizon Digital Media Services, Vubiquity, Walt Disney Studios, Warner Bros. Home Entertainment and Warner Music Group.