DEG Elects New Board of Directors for 2019-20 Fiscal Year

DEG Elects New Board of Directors for 2019-20 Fiscal Year

New Member Amazon Studios Joins Board for the First Time 
New Directors Include Amazon Studios’ Erol Kalafat, Pedro Gutierrez of Microsoft
and Cheryl Goodman of Sony Electronics 

CONTACT: Shannon Gregory

LOS ANGELES (August 8, 2019) – DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group today announced its incoming Board of Directors with commencement of its 23rd year as the home entertainment industry’s leading trade association. 

DEG’s voting member companies elected the new Board of Directors to serve for the 201920 fiscal year (August 1 – July 31). New individuals to the Board are Pedro Gutierrez of Microsoft and Cheryl Goodman of Sony ElectronicsAmazon Studios is a new member company represented on the DEG Board for the first time. It is represented by Erol Kalafat. 

DEG also has added two additional companies to its membershipRow8, the transactional digital movie service that offers a unique “Movie Love Guarantee” allowing viewers to stop a movie they don’t like and choose a new one at no additional charge; and Snap Inc., the camera company that believes that reinventing the camera represents the greatest opportunity to improve the way people live and communicate.  

The Officers of the DEG Board were elected to a two-year term in 2018 and will continue to serve through July 2020. Officers include Chair Matt Strauss of Comcast Cable; Vice Chair Sofia Chang of WarnerMedia Distribution (HBO); Chief Financial Officer Bob Buchi of Paramount Home EntertainmentSecretary Jim Wuthrich of Warner Bros. Worldwide Home Entertainment & Games, and Chair Emeritus Mike Dunn (previously called Ex-Officio). 

“We welcome all of our new DEG Board Directors. At a time when our industry is rapidly changing, the Board of Directors strives to produce deliverables that meet the needs of the industry at this dynamic time, such as DEG’s D2C Alliance, formed at the start of the year,” said Amy Jo Smith, President & CEO, DEG. “DEG is grateful for all of the Directors’ commitment, and appreciates the active participation of our members in their election.”  


Officers of the Board (Fiscal Years 2018-20)
Matt Strauss
EVP Xfinity Services
Comcast Cable  

Vice Chair
Sofia Chang
WarnerMedia Distribution (HBO)  

Chief Financial Officer
Bob Buchi
President, Worldwide
Paramount Home Entertainment  

Jim Wuthrich
Warner Bros. Worldwide Home Entertainment & Games  

Chair Emeritus
Mike Dunn  

Board Members (Fiscal Year 201920)
Todd Mathers
SVP Content and Programming Group

Erol Kalafat
Senior Technical Product Manager
Amazon Studios  

Sergei Kuharsky
EVP Franchise & Digital Enterprise
BBC Studios  Americas  

Mark Young
SVP Global Strategy & Business Development 
Fandango, FandangoNOW & Rotten Tomatoes  

Jonathan Zepp 
Media & Entertainment, Global Partnerships

Rick Hack
Head of Media & Entertainment Partnerships

Tim Alessi
Director New Product Development
LG Electronics USA 

Ron Schwartz
President Home Entertainment

Pedro Gutierrez
Business & Marketing Category Lead for Music, Movies and TV

Andrea Downing
PBS Distribution  

Chad Bautista
Director CE Product Planning
Samsung Electronics  

Cheryl Goodman
Head of Corporate Communications
Sony Electronics  

Eddie Cunningham
Universal Pictures Home Entertainment 

Special Board Advisor
Robin Tarufelli
Managing Director

Download Press Release


About DEG
The DEG advocates and promotes entertainment platforms, products and distribution channels that support the movie, television, music, consumer electronics and IT industries. DEG membership is comprised of: DEG membership is comprised of: 1091 Media, AT&T, Amazon Studios, BBC Studios, bitMAX, BTI Studios, CinedigmCinelytic, Comcast Cable, comScore, DTS, Inc., Deloitte, Deluxe Digital, Dolby Laboratories, Evergent, Eurofins Digital Media Services, Fandango, Giant Interactive, GfK Entertainment, Google Play, The Great Courses, HBO, IMAX, Intel, LG Electronics USA, Lionsgate, Mediamorph, MGM, Microsoft, MovieLabs, Nielsen Entertainment, NPD Group, Ownzones, Panasonic, Paramount Home Entertainment, PBS Distribution, Philips, Pixelogic, Premiere Digital, Redbox, Row8, Samsung Electronics, Screen Engine/ASI, Snap Inc., Sonopress, Sony New Media Solutions, Sony Electronics, SpherexStoryFit, Symphony MediaAI, Technicolor, Universal Operations Group, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, Verizon Digital Media Services, Vubiquity, and Warner Bros. Home Entertainment.#