DEG Elects New Board of Directors Including Its Officers

DEG Elects New Board of Directors Including Its Officers

Matt Strauss of Comcast Cable Elected as Chair and
Sofia Chang of HBO as Vice Chair
20th Century Fox’s Mike Dunn Appointed Ex-Officio

LOS ANGELES (September 12, 2018) – DEG: The Digital Entertainment Group today announced its incoming Board of Directors with commencement of its 22nd year as the home entertainment industry’s leading trade association.

DEG’s voting member companies elected the new Board of Directors to serve for the 2018-19 fiscal year (August 1 – July 31). New to the Board are Rick Hack of Intel and Jim Wuthrich of Warner Bros. Worldwide Home Entertainment & Games. Companies represented on the DEG Board for the first time are BBC Studios, represented by Sergei Kuharsky; Ericsson, represented by Gerald Hensley; and PBS Distribution, represented by Andrea Downing.

Matt Strauss of Comcast Cable is Chair of DEG Board of Directors

Matt Strauss

Sofia Chang of HBO is Vice Chair of DEG Board of Directors

Sofia Chang

The Officers of the DEG Board were elected to a two-year term and include former Vice Chair Matt Strauss of Comcast Cable, who will now serve as Chair; former Chief Financial Officer Sofia Chang of HBO, who will now serve as Vice Chair; Bob Buchi of Paramount, who will serve as Chief Financial Officer, and Jim Wuthrich of Warner Bros. Worldwide Home Entertainment & Games, who will serve as Secretary. In recognition of his tenure and significant contribution as former Chair, the Board of Directors has appointed Mike Dunn of 20th Century Fox to serve as Ex-Officio. These Officers are responsible for providing leadership and oversight of the DEG’s agenda.

“We welcome all of our new DEG Board Directors. The Board of Directors represents the diversity of the entertainment industry and strives to produce deliverables that meet the needs of the industry at this time of rapid change in technology and consumer behavior,” said Amy Jo Smith, CEO & President, DEG. “DEG is grateful for all of the Directors’ commitment, and for the robust participation of our members in their election.”


Officers of the Board (Fiscal Years 2018-20)
Matt Strauss
EVP Xfinity Services
Comcast Cable

Vice Chair
Sofia Chang

EVP Worldwide Digital Distribution & Home Entertainment

Chief Financial Officer
Bob Buchi
President, Worldwide
Paramount Home Media Distribution

Jim Wuthrich
Warner Bros. Worldwide Home Entertainment & Games

Mike Dunn
President, Product Strategy and Consumer Business Development
20th Century Fox

Board Members (Fiscal Year 2018-19)

Todd Mathers
SVP Content and Programming Group

Sergei Kuharsky
EVP Franchise & Digital Enterprise
BBC Studios –  Americas

Bill Sondheim
Cinedigm Entertainment Group

Gerald Hensley
UDN Media Sales Ericsson

Fandango, FandangoNOW & Rotten Tomatoes

Jonathan Zepp
Head of Media & Entertainment, Android & GooglePlay

Rick Hack
Head of Media & Entertainment Partnerships

Tim Alessi
Director New Product Development
LG Electronics USA

Ron Schwartz
President Home Entertainment

Dametra Johnson-Marletti
General Manager Digital Stores, Category, MG

Andrea Downing
PBS Distribution

Marty Gordon
VP Strategic Partnerships and Alliances

Chad Bautista
Director, CE Product Planning
Samsung Electronics

 Mike Fasulo
President and Chief Operating Officer
Sony Electronics

Darren Stupak
EVP General Manager – Sales
Sony Music Entertainment

Eddie Cunningham
Universal Pictures Home Entertainment

Download Press Release

The DEG advocates and promotes entertainment platforms, products and distribution channels which support the movie, television, music, consumer electronics and IT industries.

DEG membership is comprised of: BBC AMERICA, bitMAX, Cinedigm Entertainment, Cinelytic, Comcast Cable, comScore, Deloitte, Deluxe Digital, DirecTV, Dolby Laboratories, DTS, Inc., Ericsson, Eurofins Digital Media Services, Fandango, GfK Entertainment, Giant Interactive, GoChip, Google, Great Courses, HBO Home Entertainment, IMAX, Intel, Irdeto, LG Electronics USA, Lionsgate, MAI, Mediamorph, MGM, Microsoft, MovieLabs, MQA, Music Watch Inc., Nielsen Entertainment, NPD Group, The Orchard, Panasonic, Paramount Home Media Distribution, PBS Distribution, Philips Electronics, Premiere Digital, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Qobuz, Redbox, Samsung Electronics, Screen Engine/ASI, Sonopress, Sony New Media Solutions, Sony Electronics, Sony Music Entertainment, Technicolor, 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, Universal Operations Group, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, Verizon Digital Media Services, Vubiquity, and Warner Bros. Home Entertainment.